Media Release



COMFORTDELGRO TO APPOINT NEW BOARD MEMBERS INCLUDING FIRST OVERSEAS-BASED DIRECTOR

28 July 2022 – ComfortDelGro Corporation Limited is appointing former top civil servant Choi Shing Kwok and Australia-based corporate heavyweight Russell Stephen Balding AO1 to its board.

The new directors, who join the Board on 1 August 2022, bring with them a wealth of experience in local and international relations as well as extensive first-hand experience in the land transport industry.

Mr Choi, who is currently the Director and CEO of the ISEAS-Yusof Ishak Institute and Chairman of SP Services Limited, was previously the Permanent Secretary at the Ministry of Transport (2005-2012) and the Ministry of the Environment and Water Resources (2012-2017). Mr Choi, who retired from the civil service in 2017, also serves on the National Records Advisory Committee in the Ministry of Communications and Information, and the Management Board of the Singapore Nuclear Research and Safety Initiative in the National University of Singapore.

As Permanent Secretary (Transport), he contributed significantly to strengthening Singapore's transportation connectivity and developing the public transport sector. He oversaw many key policy reviews and their implementation, including the Land Transport Master Plan 2008. His key contributions included enhancements to public transport services such as expansion of bus and train services, improved public transport service information, the corporatisation of Changi Airport, and the successful opening of Changi Airport Terminal 3.

¹ Individuals are appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) for distinguished service of a high degree to Australia or to humanity at large.



ComfortDelGro's second newly-appointed director, Mr Balding, is the Group's first overseas-based director. He brings with him extensive government, stakeholder, community and customer engagement experience having held numerous directorships and senior executive positions in a number of major organisations over the years. From 2014 to 2016, Mr Balding was Chairman of Cabcharge Australia Limited (now A2B Australia Limited), which is listed on the Australian Exchange. During his tenure as Chairman of Cabcharge, he also served on the Boards of ComfortDelGro Cabcharge Pty Ltd and CityFleet Networks Ltd (UK). Previously, Mr Balding was the MD of the Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC), CEO of Sydney Airport, Australia's National Gateway Airport and Deputy Chairman of Destination NSW. Mr Balding, who is based in Sydney, is currently Chairman of Racing NSW, a Director of Racing Australia Limited and a Director of the Trust Company (Sydney Airport) Limited.

ComfortDelGro Chairman Lim Jit Poh said: "The appointment of Directors is an important process which takes into consideration not only the personal attributes of the individuals and the expertise and experience they bring to the Group, but also how they fit in with the rest of the Board. Appointees must possess exemplary professional disciplines, and ideally have experience working in Singapore and the countries where we operate in. The composition of the Board must ensure that its size, diversity of skills, experience, gender, age and knowledge and core competencies are relevant to the businesses of the Group and offer tripartite representation covering the business government and labour sectors.

"I am confident that both Shing Kwok and Russell, whom I have worked with in the past on other directorships, will be valuable assets to the Group as we continue to pursue new avenues of growth. Shing Kwok, as a former top civil servant, brings with him strong regulatory and governmental experience which is useful as we continue to navigate the very political land transport business. Russell, who is a stalwart in corporate Australia, will bring valuable insight to us as we continue to expand our Australian footprint, which ranks as our largest overseas destination to-date with over S\$1 billion invested," he said.

With the new appointments, the compositions of the Board and its Committees are as follows:

Board of Directors

Mr Lim Jit Poh - Chairman (Independent Non-Executive)

Mr Yang Ban Seng - Director (Non-Independent Executive & Managing Director/Group Chief Executive Officer)

Mr Russell Stephen Balding AO - Director (Independent Non-Executive)

Ms Jessica Cheam - Director (Independent Non-Executive)

Mr Choi Shing Kwok - Director (Independent Non-Executive)

Mr Mark Christopher Greaves - Director (Independent Non-Executive)

Mr Lee Jee Cheng Philip - Director (Independent Non-Executive)

Professor Ooi Beng Chin - Director (Independent Non-Executive)

Ms Sum Wai Fun Adeline - Director (Independent Non-Executive)

Ms Tham Ee Mern Lilian - Director (Independent Non-Executive)

Audit and Risk Committee

Mr Lee Jee Cheng Philip - Chairman (Independent Non-Executive Director)

Mr Russell Stephen Balding AO - Member (Independent Non-Executive Director)

Ms Jessica Cheam - Member (Independent Non-Executive Director)

Mr Choi Shing Kwok - Member (Independent Non-Executive Director)

Mr Mark Christopher Greaves - Member (Independent Non-Executive Director)

Ms Tham Ee Mern Lilian - Member (Independent Non-Executive Director)

Nominating and Remuneration Committee

Mr Lim Jit Poh - Chairman (Independent Non-Executive Director & Board Chairman)

Mr Russell Stephen Balding AO - Member (Independent Non-Executive Director)

Mr Choi Shing Kwok - Member (Independent Non-Executive Director)

Mr Mark Christopher Greaves - Member (Independent Non-Executive Director)

Mr Lee Jee Cheng Philip - Member (Independent Non-Executive Director)

Ms Sum Wai Fun Adeline - Member (Independent Non-Executive Director)

Investment Committee

Mr Lim Jit Poh - Chairman (Independent Non-Executive Director & Board Chairman)

Mr Russell Stephen Balding AO - Member (Independent Non-Executive Director)

Mr Mark Christopher Greaves - Member (Independent Non-Executive Director)

Professor Ooi Beng Chin - Member (Independent Non-Executive Director)

Ms Tham Ee Mern Lilian - Member (Independent Non-Executive Director)

Mr Yang Ban Seng - Member (Non-Independent Executive Director & Managing Director/Group Chief Executive Officer)

Digitalisation Committee

Ms Tham Ee Mern Lilian - Chairman (Independent Non-Executive Director)

Ms Jessica Cheam - Member (Independent Non-Executive Director)

Mr Lee Jee Cheng Philip - Member (Independent Non-Executive Director)

Professor Ooi Beng Chin - Member (Independent Non-Executive Director)

Ms Sum Wai Fun Adeline - Member (Independent Non-Executive Director)

Mr Yang Ban Seng - Member (Non-Independent Executive Director & Managing Director/Group Chief Executive Officer)

Sustainability Committee

Ms Jessica Cheam - Chairman (Independent Non-Executive Director)
Mr Choi Shing Kwok - Member (Independent Non-Executive Director)
Mr Lim Jit Poh - Member (Independent Non-Executive Director & Board Chairman)
Professor Ooi Beng Chin - Member (Independent Non-Executive Director)
Ms Sum Wai Fun Adeline - Member (Independent Non-Executive Director)
Mr Yang Ban Seng - Member (Non-Independent Executive Director & Managing
Director/Group Chief Executive Officer)

Background

ComfortDelGro is one of the world's largest land transport companies with a total fleet size of about 35,000 buses, taxis and rental vehicles. We also run 177 km of light and heavy rail networks in Singapore and New Zealand. Our global operations span seven countries – Singapore, Australia, the United Kingdom, New Zealand, China, Ireland and Malaysia.